2021 PDC World Championship draw complete


The draw was made on Thursday for the 2021 PDC World Darts Championship, which will see 96 of the world’s best players competing from December 15-January 3 for the Sid Waddell Trophy and £2.5 million in prize money.

Take a look at how Stoke darts players, Ian White, Adrian Lewis and Andy Hamilton line up for their first games at the biggest darts competition of the year, the PDC World Championships.

Ian White

Currently ranked world number 10, in the PDC World Ranking, the ‘Diamond’ will be looking to repeat his heroics of 2014, where he reached the Quarter-Finals of the World Championship but narrowly lost 5-4 to Australian, Simon Whitlock despite posting a 98.5 average, bettering Whitlock’s 95 on the night.

White has been labelled as one of the most consistent players in the sport. Being agonisingly close on a few occasions to claiming his first televised title but managing a huge 13 non-televised titles begs the question- Why can’t he win when he’s on the telly?

2020 has been an overall successful year under the circumstances and White will look towards the World Championships as a chance to end the year on a high.

He said: “I think all players enjoy the Worlds. It’s a really big opportunity for players to come through and show what they’re made of. It passes through to the New Year so it’s also a mental test that you have to make sure you stay switched on if you make it that far. I’m looking forward to it and will definitely give it my best go.”

Adrian Lewis

Flamboyant, heavy-scoring and entertaining, Adrian has established himself amongst the sport’s leading stars over the past decade since emerging as a teenage prodigy. However, his current rank of 21 in the PDC World Ranking, is his lowest ranking since 2005, having been in the top 20 ever since. ‘Jackpot’ will feel frustrated looking back on 2020 and will want to finish the year with one last push at the Darts World Championship.

Lewis’ first ranking title came in 2004 and seven more PDC wins would follow before he finally tasted glory in a televised event – but Lewis did it in typical style with a stunning nine-darter as he defeated Gary Anderson in the 2011 World Championship final.

Anderson would gain revenge in the Premier League final four months later, but Lewis went on to become only the third player in the sport’s history to successfully defend their first World Championship when he overcame Andy Hamilton at Alexandra Palace in 2012.

Lewis achieved a further piece of history at the 2015 World Championship with another brilliant nine-dart finish, although the perfect leg came in a defeat to Raymond van Barneveld at Alexandra Palace.

For the last two World Championships (2019 and 2020) Lewis has been halted at the last 16, crashing out against world number one Michael Van Gerwen and then Belgian star Dimitri Van den Bergh a year later. It will be clear that ‘Jackpot’ will be aiming to better his previous few tournaments and go for glory for the third time of his career. Expect fireworks whilst watching the player notoriously known for his ability to strike the perfect leg.

Andy Hamilton

Qualifying through the PDC Order of Merit, ‘Hammer’ could prove to be a dark horse out of the Stoke trio featuring at the World Championship. 2012 was his last real dent on the competition and he was pegged back by fellow Stokie, Adrian Lewis- a great day for Stoke darts but one Hamilton could have felt a sense of now or never as the start of the decade was the prime time of his career.

After a tough last few years for Hamilton, he lost his PDC tour card at the end of the 2017 season and made the decision to take a year off from playing PDC darts due to personal reasons. An admirable comeback for the ‘Hammer’ who just a month ago, struck a perfect leg at the PDC Winter Series- looking in very good form.

2020 has treated some players better than other. Hamilton has had a very slow year with his most memorable return being at the BDO World Championship in January, where he reached the last 16. However, a lot of players and fans will be pleased to see Hamilton back at the PDC World Championship and have to take time to appreciate this is the same player who took a whole year away from the sport to work on himself on a personal level.

Seeded through to the second round are Ian White and Adrian Lewis. White plays the winner of opening round game between Kim Huybrechts and Di Zhuang. Whilst Lewis plays the winner of Damon Heta and Danny Baggish. Hamilton has to win his opening round game with Nico Kurz to meet high-flyer, Gabriel Clemens in the second round. Prize money and full draw below.

Prize Money

(Total: £2,500,000)

Winner  (1)          £500,000

Runner-up           (1)          £200,000

Semi-finalists      (2)          £100,000

Quarter-finalists (4)          £50,000

Fourth round losers          (8)          £35,000

Third round losers            (16)        £25,000

Second round losers        (32)        £15,000

First round losers              (32)        £7,500

Full draw 2021 Darts World Championship

 [1] Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Murray/Lourence Ilagan

[32] Ricky Evans v Mickey Mansell/Haupai Puha

[16] Joe Cullen v Wayne Jones/Ciaran Teehan

[17] Jonny Clayton v John Henderson/Marko Kantele

[8] Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown/Ryan Meikle

[25] Danny Noppert v Martijn Kleermaker/Cameron Carolissen

[9] Dimitri van den Bergh v Luke Humphries/Paul Lim

[24] Jermaine Wattimena v Derk Telnekes/Nick Kenny

[4] Michael Smith v Jason Lowe/Dmitriy Gorbunov

[29] Devon Petersen v Steve Lennon/Daniel Larsson

[13] Gary Anderson v Madars Razma/Toru Suzuki

[20] Mensur Suljovic v Maik Kuivenhoven/Matthew Edgar

[5] Rob Cross v Dirk van Duijvenbode/Bradley Brooks

[28] Jamie Hughes v Adam Hunt/Lisa Ashton

[12] Glen Durrant v Steve Beaton/Diogo Portela

[21] Adrian Lewis v Damon Heta/Danny Baggish

[2] Peter Wright v Steve West/Amit Gilitwala

[31] Gabriel Clemens v Andy Hamilton/Nico Kurz

[15] Krzysztof Ratajski v Ryan Joyce/Karel Sedlacek

[18] Simon Whitlock v Darius Labanauskas/Chengan Liu

[7] James Wade v Callan Rydz/James Bailey

[26] Stephen Bunting v Andy Boulton/Deta Hedman

[10] Ian White v Kim Huybrechts/Di Zhuang

[23] Jeffrey de Zwaan v Ryan Searle/Danny Lauby Jr

[3] Gerwyn Price v Luke Woodhouse/Jamie Lewis

[30] Brendan Dolan v Mike de Decker/Edward Foulkes

[14] Jose de Sousa v Ross Smith/David Evans

[19] Mervyn King v Max Hopp/Gordon Mathers

[6] Nathan Aspinall v Scott Waites/Matt Campbell

[27] Vincent van der Voort v Ron Meulenkamp/Boris Krcmar

[11] Daryl Gurney v William O’Connor/Niels Zonneveld

[22] Chris Dobey v Jeff Smith/Keane Barry


About Author

Comments are closed.