Future Journalism Awards inspires a new generation of writers


Young content creators have been commended for their journalistic skills at the Future Journalism Awards.

The competition, organised by Staffordshire University, is a chance for young people to develop their writing and videography skills, aiming to inspire a new generation of Journalists in Staffordshire and Cheshire.

Over 230 hopeful entrants from Staffordshire and Cheshire schools and colleges submitted pieces to the competition. Submissions were judged by Staffordshire University lecturers Ian Bayley, Mitch Price and Sue Greenwood, alongside Stoke-on-Trent Live Executive Editor Mary-Ann Astle and Sonya Farrall, founder of BabaBaboon.

The event took place at the Stoke-on-Trent Film Theatre today (15 March), where 15 finalists aged 7-18 received praise for their submissions, with five winners receiving an £50 Amazon gift voucher and a tour of the university Broadcast News Studio.

The students submitted a range of work from video packages and podcasts, to features and opinion pieces.

Guest speakers from the industry, including Matt Smith and Rebecca Wood, presented the awards, and offered key advice to the young journalists-in-the-making. MR Ruth Smeeth, who launched this years’ competition in December, also made an appearance.

Full list of winners and runners up:

Years 3 to 6, presented by Sonya Farrall and Broadcast Journalist Matt Smith:

Runners up: Amie-Marie Hemming, Lily-Beau Lymath, Sophia Shelley and Mya Alexander Jones

Winners: Lilian Bird and Freya Folwell

Years 7 to 9 was presented by BBC Midlands’ Rebecca Wood, who spoke about her career in the industry and inspired the young minds to continue their path in Journalism.

Runners up: Saskia Harris and Daisy-Mae Jones

Winner: Daisy Guinness

Years 10 to 11, presented by Stoke-on-Trent Live’s Head of Audience, Louise Elliot Head.

Runners up: Alyx Furnival and Maria Conlon

Winner: Diana Shabani

Years 12 to 13, presented by Staffordshire University’s Ian Bayley.

Runners up: Jack Oulton and Jade Webber

Winner: Sophie Harrison

View our special video report here:


About Author