General Election 2015: Labour’s Paul Farrelly retains Newcastle-under-Lyme seat in close race


Labour’s Paul Farrelly celebrated his fourth consecutive term representing Newcastle-under-Lyme in Parliament.

Mr Farrelly won the seat by the skin of his teeth, beating his Tory rival with just 650 votes.

Mr Farrelly polled 16,520 votes, while his close Conservative rival Tony Cox polled 15,870.

Third place went to UKIP’s Phil Wood with 7,252 votes, which was followed by Ian Wilkes of the Liberal Democrats, having 1826 votes.

The Green Party’s Sam Gibbons came in fifth with 1,256 votes and Independent candidate David Nixon had only 283 votes and did not even attend the count.

Paul Farrelly told StaffsLive his Tory competitor had spent more on his election campaign.

Mr Farrelly said: “I was calm, I wouldn’t say confident, I wasn’t complacent.

“We’ve faced an onslaught from the Conservatives in this election, they’ve outspent all the other parties altogether

“They spent over £150,000 pounds in this area compared to our £10,000.

“But what we’ve done is have a great ground campaign the best I’ve ever experienced, with more volunteers than ever.”

Click on the video below to hear more from newly-re-elected Mr Farrelly:

Mr Farrelly had a 1,552 majority in the 2010 General Election, a 3.6% head start, which as now been slashed to 1.5%.

The overall turnout for the constituency was 70.44% – up from 62.2% in 2010.

This showed a total of 42,997 Newcastle-under-Lyme residents, who were eligible, cast their votes.

Click on the video below to see the moment Mr Farrelly was re-elected:

The youngest of the candidates, 20-year-old Green Party Candidate Sam Gibbons narrowly missed out on his goal of beating the Liberal Democrats as well as David Nixon the Independent.

The Keele University student told StaffsLive: I’ll be keeping a keen interest in politics, I can remember talking about the 2005 General Election, I would have been 10.”


About Author

Comments are closed.